AASA Governance and Governing Board


Building a Collective Vision
AASA is led by a 135-member Governing Board (Roster of current Governing Board) that sets the policy agenda
for the association and a 21-member Executive Committee (Roster of current Executive Committee) that approves the
association’s program plan and budget. 

Governing Board

Membership on the AASA Governing Board is based upon the number of eligible voting members in each state affiliate. Each state affiliate is guaranteed at least two representatives on the Governing Board.  Governing Board members have dual responsibilities. They represent their home state on the Governing Board and they report the work of the Governing Board to their home state affiliate. Through the Governing Board elected representatives, members have a voice in AASA decision making.

AASA Regional Map


Seven regions, each with a similar number of AASA voting members:
  • Region 1: AK, CA, HI, ID, MT, NV, OR, WA, WY
  • Region 2: AR, AZ, CO, KS, NM, OK, TX, UT
  • Region 3: IA, MI, MN, ND, NE, SD, WI
  • Region 4: IL, IN, KY, MO, OH, Canada
  • Region 5: AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN, VA
  • Region 6: DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA, WV
  • Region 7: CT, MA, ME, NH,  NY, RI, VT

Current Montana Governing Board Members

Jule Walker, Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction -- 3 year term started in 2017-18
Tobin Novasio, Lockwood Schools -- 3 year term started in 2018-19
Ron Whitmoyer (Executive Committee Member Region 1), East Helena Schools -- 3 year term started in 2017-18