MACSS Awards

macss_logo_clr 200x143.jpg - 42.47 Kb

2022 County Superintendent of the Year Award Nomination is Open!

Follow the link to access the application:  2022 MACSS County Superintendent of the Year Application

This award acknowledges the dedication and service of our colleagues and fellow County Superintendents. Nominations will be accepted from County Superintendents, School Administrators, Teachers, School Board Members, County Commissioners, and parents. The recipient of this award will be honored at the Spring MACSS conference in April of 2022 in Lewistown, Montana and at the SAM Evening of Excellence in June 2022. Additionally, the recipient will be offered the opportunity to attend the National Rural Education Association conference or another national conference of their choice. Expenses will be paid for attending these events. Nominations are due by 5:00 pm on March 15, 2022.

2022 Montana Rural Teacher of the Year Nomination - Opening Soon!

The Montana Association of County Superintendents of Schools is seeking nominations for its annual Rural Teacher of the Year Award to be presented by MACSS during its spring conference. This award is designed to honor a teacher who has demonstrated outstanding qualities as an educator and who is currently serving in a rural school setting with no assigned administrator except for a principal and/or the County Superintendent. The award will include a $500.00 endowment and an all-expense paid trip, including a substitute teacher, to the MACSS spring conference (if a spring conference is held in 2021)  where the winner will make a short presentation  The winner must also attend the Evening of Excellence Award Dinner in Helena in June and has the option of attending the 2021 NREA conference. Expenses are also paid for attending these events.

If you would like to nominate a teacher whom you believe deserves this award, please complete the enclosed application and forward it to the County Superintendent of Schools in the county where the individual being nominated is presently teaching.

All applications are due as hardcopy form or electronic form to the selection committee chairman by 5:00 on March 15, 2022. The selection of the Montana Rural Teacher of the Year will be completed by March 25, 2021. The 2021 selection committee chairman is Susan Metcalf, PO Box 1310, Big Timber, MT 59011-1310.  Email submissions to Susan Metcalf.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact your local County Superintendent of Schools or the president of the MACSS as listed in the School Administrators of Montana (SAM) web site. Thank you for your assistance in our efforts to recognize the outstanding work of Montana's rural educators.


2021 Montana County Superintendent of the Year

Katrina Chaney, Lewis and Clark County 

 B63BC580-CC8F-4D66-8C7D-B15E7E04CDF1 - Katrina Chaney.jpeg - 641.15 Kb

2021 Rural Teacher of the Year 

Congratulations, Debra Flynn, for being named the Montana Rural Teacher of the Year!

Debra teaches at Molt Elementary School

Deb Flynn - Debra Flynn.jpg - 95.47 Kb