MAEMSP Friends of Education Award

Nominations are closed for the MAEMSP Friends of Education Award

The MAEMSP Friends of Education Award recognizes those individuals in your community who have gone above and beyond the normal call of duty in supporting and promoting public education.  Think of that private citizen outside of the professional educational organization who is always there to support education and goes the extra mile to further the education of Montana's youth.  The successful candidate will exemplify the following:
  • Outstanding support and promotion of public education;
  • State of local membership and leadership positions in educational boards or organizations; and
  • Participation and leadership positions in community and civic organizations

Past Friends of Education Award Recipients

Ted Hazelbaker 1985   Chuck Merja 2000   Susan Hay Patrick 2015
Karen Trask Doolen 1986   Jan Perrin 2001   Brent Parker 2016
Anita Johnson 1987  

Shelby's Home 'N School Organization Officers

2002   John Konzen 2017
Senator Pat Regan 1988   The Key (Kids, Education, Yes!) 2003   Pastor Susan Otey 2018
Mignon Waterman 1989   Cindy Lewis 2004   Mr. Brad Parsch 2019
Kay McKenna 1990   None 2005   Hawthorne Elementary Parent Advisory Council - Bozeman 2020
Marilyn Fuhrman 1991   None 2006    Tamalee Robinson  - Kalispell  2021
Nancy Keenan 1992   Brandi Lowell 2007    Dave Renfrow - Columbia Falls  2022
Harold Hanser 1993   Helen Pilling 2008     not awarded  2023
Joan Monaghan 1994    not awarded 2009    Jane S. Heman Foundation  2024
Fred & Maile Urbaska 1995     not awarded 2010      
Bob & Pat Kaste 1996     not awarded 2011      
Roy & Elsie Mears 1997     not awarded 2012      
None 1998     not awarded 2013      
Mimi Davidson 1999   Jim and Heidi Duncan 2014