MASS Awards

AASA National Conference on Education (NCE) Convention Incentive Award

The Montana Association of School Superintendents (MASS) incentive award program is intended to provide a special opportunity for MASS/AASA Members to attend the AASA NCE for professional development.  The convention will be held virtually on February 18-19, 2020. Nominations are now open.

MASS AASA Convention Incentive Award - Nominations are due by December 1, 2020


2020 Superintendent of the Year - Les Meyer

Mr. Les Meyer, Superintendent at Fairfield Public Schools, was selected as the 2019 Superintendent of the Year for Montana and honored at the annual Montana Conference of Education Leadership (MCEL) held in Billings on October 16-18, 2019. The award is sponsored by the Montana Association of School Superintendents (MASS).

Mr. Les Meyer has served as the Superintendent at Fairfield Public Schools since 2012.  He previously served as 7 -12 Principal and Activities Director in Fairfield.  Under Meyer’s leadership, Fairfield Public Schools began an early kindergarten program with a certified teacher.  The decision has proven to be a good one.  The district more than doubled its target number of students enrolled in the early kindergarten program and the program has been a success.  Fairfield Public Schools has also earned several other academic accomplishments.  The school district had the top ACT score in math in the state of Montana for the 2016-2017 school year and the top 5 composite score for Montana for the 2017-2018 school year.  The elementary school was just awarded the prestigious Blue Ribbon status by the U.S. Department of Education.  Mr. Meyer believes these academic accomplishments are due to the collegial nature of the staff.

Mr. Meyer has received the Montana Association of Student Council Administrator of the Year Award (2012), The Montana Association of Secondary School Principals of the Year Award (2010), Fairfield Public School Teacher of the Year Award (2000), and the Montana Coaches Association Football Coach of the Year (three times, 2018).  Mr. Meyer stated that he and his wife Jolyn “are so fortunate to have lived in the Fairfield community for the past twenty-two years” and he hopes they can give back to the community even though he feels they can never give back all that has been given to them.   

The Montana Association of School Superintendents (MASS), in collaboration with AASA, annually recognizes and rewards the outstanding leadership of school superintendents.  This program seeks to honor those strong Montana school district leaders who work successfully with their entire learning communities to provide the highest quality education that is possible. 

Now in its 33rd year, the National Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by ARAMARK Education, VALIC and AASA, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools.  Mr. Meyer is eligible for the National Superintendent of the Year Award and will be honored at the AASA National Conference on Education in San Diego in February 2020. 

SAM and MASS congratulate Mr. Les Meyer for being awarded this prestigious honor.


Regional Superintendents of the Year 

Each of the nine MASS regions selects a Regional Superintendent of the Year.  Those candidates are then in contention for the Montana Superintendent of the Year Award.   The 2020-21 Regional Superintendents of the Year are:
Region LN FN Organization
C Begger Andy Harlowton Schools
SE Olson Nate Jordan Public Schools
NW Barron Laurie Evergreen Schools
HL MacDonald Jeremy Box Elder Schools
W Sargent Jason St. Ignatius Schools
NC Prody Kathleen Belt Schools
4R Keel Theresa Gallatin Gateway School
SC  Evertz Allison Joliet Schools
NE Crowder  Larry Culbertson Schools
These Regional winners will be presented their awards during the MASS Fall Conference on September 21-22 and at MCEL on October 15-16!
For more information on the awards available and the process, please contact
Kimberly Scofield, Director of Member Services and Professional Learning at [email protected] or by phone at 442-2510.