Nominations are open until Friday, September 30, 2022. 

Follow this link to submit a nomination:  2022 G.V. Erickson Award Nomination Form

The G.V. Erickson Award is given to a member of the School Administrators of Montana who has made the greatest contribution to the betterment of education in Montana; something that G.V. did throughout his career.  This is the most honored award a school administrator of Montana can receive.

2021 G.V. Erickson Award
The 2021 G.V. Erickson Award was presented to Dr. Doug Reisig,
Superintendent at Hellgate Elementary School District
2021 GV Erickson Image for Website.png - 661.74 Kb

The School Administrators of Montana (SAM) is proud to announce the 2021 G.V. Erickson Award recipient, Dr. Doug Reisig, Superintendent at Hellgate Elementary School District in Missoula.  Dr. Reisig was awarded this distinguished honor at the annual Montana Conference of Education Leadership (MCEL) held virtually on October 20-22, 2021  The G.V. Erickson Award is given to a member of SAM who has made the greatest contribution to the betterment of education in Montana.  This is the most prestigious award a school administrator of Montana can receive.  The award is named after Mr. G.V. Erickson, a school administrator who dedicated his career and life to education and the children of Montana.  The G. V. Erickson award recipients have been honored for over 40 years.  Dr. Reisig was awarded the G.V. Erickson Award in 2010 and is the first member of SAM to win the award for a second time.

Dr. Reisig has been serving as superintendent at Hellgate Elementary School District for more than 20 years. Through his leadership during the last year that has been difficult for many school districts faced with seemingly insurmountable challenges, Dr. Reisig worked tirelessly creating and implementing plans to enable students to return to school on an in-person, full-time basis for the 2020-21 school year. He worked to ensure that not only were all students able to continue their education but that his staff was protected and felt safe.  His extraordinary leadership has enabled the school district to prosper under difficult circumstances.  Surrounding school districts have emulated the district’s reopening plans, and Dr. Reisig has been generous with his resources and his time to mentor less experienced superintendents who needed guidance. 

Recognizing that many students in his school district live in poverty and who would suffer due to the toll of COVID-19, he donated his salary increase to start the Family Resource Fund.  This fund has been used to alleviate some of the hardship families in the district have faced due to the pandemic.  His generosity has spurred others to donate and the fund has financially benefited numerous Hellgate Elementary students and their families.

Dr. Reisig has guided the school district since 2000 and with his leadership, the school district has seamlessly accommodated a student enrollment increase of over 33% since that time and successfully passed two multi-million dollar bond initiatives to renovate and expand school facilities to accommodate the increase in student enrollment and provide a quality educational experience for students.   With Dr. Reisig at the helm, an environment at Hellgate Elementary has been created that seeks to bring a balance of academic rigor, academic relevance, and personal relationship into all learning activities.  In their nomination letter, the Hellgate Elementary Board of Trustees stated, “Our school district is better, and we think other Montana school districts are better, because of his efforts.”

 “Dr. Doug Reisig is a remarkable example of a Montana education leader,” stated Kirk Miller, Executive Director of SAM.  “He has dedicated a lifetime of service to providing Montana’s children with an outstanding public education.  His personal and professional commitment to advocating for education excellence in Montana’s public schools is exemplary. We are proud of Doug and thank him for his continued commitment to the education of Montana’s children!”

Past G.V. Erickson Award Recipients


Milt Negus



Conrad Robertson


C. Buzz Christiansen



John McNeil


Jim Turner



Rachel Vielleux


Cliff Harmala



Dr. Kirk Miller


Bob Souhrada



Dr. Fred Anderson


Don MacLennan



Dr. Bruce Messinger


Edith Harper



Pat Hould


Chris Mattocks



Brian Patrick


Wally Vinnedge



Leonard Orth


Paul Casey Stengel



Larry Crowder


Jacob Block



Dr. Doug Reisig


Roger Eble



Jack Copps


John Fero



Ron Whitmoyer


Dennis Kraft



Jule Walker


Vivan Scoles



Dr. Bruce Whitehead


Dr. Ernie Jean



Rick Duncan


Dr. Peter Carparelli



Dr. Rob Watson


James Wood



Tammy Lacey


Craig Brewington



Dr. Laurie Barron


Kathleen Lockyer



Dr. Darlene Schottle


Dr. J. Jay Erdie

   2020  Tobin Novasio

About Mr. Erickson 
Mr. G. V. Erickson was born in Moorhead, Minnesota in 1911 where he attended elementary, high school and college.  G. V. graduated from Concordia College in 1934 with a major in biology and a double minor in German and physical education.  Mr. Erickson completed graduated work at the University of Montana, Montana State University, and Carroll College prior to receiving a Masters Degree in School Administration from the University of Minnesota in 1945.  At his first teaching position G. V. was a principal, coach, and a math and science instructor in New Leipzig, North Dakota for three years.  G. V. then went to Brockton as a science and math instructor and coach in 1937.  After two years he became superintendent and held that position for three years.  He then moved to Glasgow where he was a principal of the junior/senior high school.  G. V. then moved to Havre for three years as high school principal.  In 1948 G. V. moved to Helena as elementary principal of the Bryant, Lincoln, Hawthorn, and Broadwater schools. In 1955 he set up the first Helena Junior High School and was principal there through 1959.  In 1959 he moved to Montana State University in Bozeman as the Director of Student Teaching.  G. V. held this position for 10 years, and when the Department of Education became the College of Education in 1967, he became the Head of the Department of Secondary Education and Foundations.  He held this position until he retired in 1973.
Along with his regular position at MSU, G. V. was offered an additional challenge in education.  At the first meeting of the joint organization of MASA-MAESP-MASSP held in Billings in 1971, he was asked b the newly formed Executive Board to become the organization’s first executive secretary.  G. V. held this part-time position in addition to his work at Montana State University.  He was SAM’s Executive Secretary for the first six years of his existence.
Also G. V. became a life member of MEA in 1937, the NEA in 1940, the NAESP in 1953, and was also a life member of the MASSP.
The term “nice guy” was created for G. V. Erickson.  He had a great compassion for educators and students.  G. V.’s motivational speeches, which accompanied his annual report to administrators, will never be forgotten.
Mr. G. V. Erickson passed away a few short days before the annual G. V. Erickson Award was presented at the Fall Conference in 1996.